Sandcrawler Network

Unreal Modder's Haven => Unreal Engine 2 General Modding Chat => Star Wars Republic Commando Chat => Topic started by: Omega 27 Elite on November 27, 2010, 08:45:06 AM

Title: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on November 27, 2010, 08:45:06 AM

(the questions here have already been answered. please scroll down to the end of this thread to see my current questions)
ok so for a while now I've been working on a SP map that is basically a training ground on kamino. i want to put in a door that you can place a charge on and blow up but i cant figure out how to make the door destroyable. i havent found anything on the forum about it so im assuming im the first one to ask this. btw im using the door from Static Meshes > AssaultShip_PR > RAS_RegDoor because i cant find any other doors

another question i have is how can i put a character sound in my level. i already figured out on my own how to put music in my level (I'm quite proud of myself for that xP) but i don't know how to put a sound-bite from a character in there. i tried using a music trigger but putting a delta 07 clip under MusicTrigger properties >MusicTrigger>Episode but i cant hear it. I tried putting Delta 07 physically in the level to see if maybe i could hear it if his AI was in the level itself but its still not working. can anybody help me?

i have a few other questions already posted in different parts of the forum and if you have an answer feel free to tell me (pleeeeease pleeeease pleeeease i reaaally wanna know the answers!!!! im such a noob xDDD) here
http://forums.sandcrawler.net/index.php?topic=1338.0 (http://forums.sandcrawler.net/index.php?topic=1338.0)
i hope at least 1 person can understand my questions xDD
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Sandcrawler on December 04, 2010, 12:02:42 AM
Triggers

Scripted, music, and just a the base triggers.

There is a tutorial for basic trigger on the site, for more complicated trigger look for UT04 trigger guieds on google.
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on December 04, 2010, 01:21:29 PM
ok thanks. i already know about basic triggers and music triggers but as i said voices arent working.
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Tycon on December 19, 2010, 05:05:05 AM
you add a ScriptedTrigger(its in aiscript) dubble clik on it and xpand the tab aiscript. in Actions, click add. open the pulldown thing and go to the bottom and select WaitForEvent. then click New. A few extrat properties will show up. set ExternalEvent to whatever you want, like CueSevsVoice
then add another action and make it PlaySound. Hit new, and add your sound

For the door. go to actor classes and expand activateitem. expand DemeolitionCrate and choose one, then add it to your map. back to activate item, expand explosivecharge. get a DemolitionCharge and add one of those. then go to MarkerIconActor. keep expanding until you see MarkerDemolitionNative. expand that and edd a MarkerDemolition to the map. dubble click on the marker(it lokkes like a hologram) and go to marker. a big list shows up. Keep the marker's properties up while you select the charge. Back to the properties: select Anchor and hit Use selet actors then hit add then use. x out of marker properties and bring up the charge's properties. Select the holo, then go to the chrage props and expand marker goto squadmarker, then Use. go up to Explosivecharge tab and then select the demolition crate select proptodestroy and hit use.
Now the hard part's over. go tothe static mesh browser and select the one you want. dubble click on the crate and go to display advanced, select StaticMesh and hit use. Your Demolition crate is now a door. mve the marker up to the door, and put the charge in front of his hands. BuildAll, Save, and test it.
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on December 20, 2010, 12:02:49 PM
interesting i'll have to try those things out. thanks for answering my questions i still have lots more though O.O.

how do path nodes work? i tried coping the properties of one from RC into my map but it didnt work. also how do you make a clone or whatever shoot at a non enemy say a table or something. ive looked for the answers on the forum and google but i cant find anything :/
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Tycon on December 21, 2010, 11:34:40 AM
For Path nodes, you just chuck a bunch of them around your map. at the top of thr 3d window rightclick go to view, and click Show Paths.  a bunch of lines will show up between your nodes. move the nodes around and click Build Paths. Green and white lines are best.

To make them shoot stuff, go to your pawn's properties. in AI you will see something called AiScriptTag. type CloneTrooper1Ai or sumthin. goto actor browser, expand AIScript, and add a ScriptedSequence. set its tag to CloneTrooperAI. in AiScript, hit add. set it to WaitForEvent and set Extrnalevent to whatever(to make him wait for a trigger) then add again, Shoottarget. It says Targettag or something ad put the tag of your tble
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on December 21, 2010, 05:03:10 PM
cool thanks. i actually dont have any more questions right now xD
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Tycon on December 22, 2010, 09:26:28 AM
:O but post any new ones here k?
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on December 22, 2010, 05:45:44 PM
will do. and now i do actually have one. under hidden on the path nodes do i need to put a base for them and if so what do i put as the base
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Tycon on December 25, 2010, 04:30:23 AM
no u don't need a base. and some other tips for nodes. don't put them too close to edges, and they must be on a flat surface.(u can put them on statichmesh or brush) if you go to actorclasses and expand navigationpoint you'll see a bunch of stuff. try adding a CoverPoint. slide behind a crate or something and rotate it so the arrow is pointing at the crate. Build All, and test it. any pawns you have will move to the coverpoint.
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on December 25, 2010, 02:02:56 PM
awesome im gonna try that out. thanks for the 100 time :]
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on January 25, 2011, 05:35:18 PM
ok so i know its been a while but......i tried the path nodes and they're working great i put them in my big map and my squad can go with me now(thats kinda big for me O.O) but the scripted trigger thing didnt work
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Tycon on January 26, 2011, 04:09:44 PM
You're referring to the Sev's Voice thing? you need to add a trigger or something to trigger the event CueSevsVoice. heres a couple ways.
if you have a demolition charge nearby, doubleclick on the crate, go to prop>DestroyedState>Event. put in CueSevsVoice. When it blows up u'll hear the voice

add a pawn. set his Event(NOT his tag) to CueSevsVoice

add a trigger. set its Event to CueSevsVoice. ingame, walk in the trigger's general area
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on January 26, 2011, 05:03:07 PM
ok cool i new i could probably use a trigger for it but i didnt know what to put the event at. thanks
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Tycon on February 03, 2011, 01:40:23 PM
just put the same thing for the event of the trigger and the tag of the script :D
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 03, 2011, 08:55:03 PM
ok thanks
Title: Re: how to make a door destroyable and other questions....
Post by: Tycon on February 04, 2011, 05:40:37 AM
just put the same thing for the event of the trigger and the tag of the script 
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 08, 2011, 12:16:13 PM
ok i tried the voice thing and it worked this time!! yay anyway....
can you delete something that has a "null static reference" or whatever cause whenever that happens the item disappears from the map in unreal but its still there in the game. like say i put a battle droid somewhere and it didnt like it so it came up as null or whatever(idk what that is) how do i delete it?
also i know how to use teleporters i figured them out on my own, but how do you make it so that instead of just walking over it you have to do something first, say slice a computer(as in the computer trigger it to work)
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Sandcrawler on February 08, 2011, 04:14:26 PM
In the Hidden section there will be a benabled=true, change that to false, then set up the trigger however and set the event to the same as the tag on the teleporter.

Other thing you could do is hide it behind a Mover/in its own room, and have the teleporter close the door after someones goes threw it.

Also don't forget to create multiple teleport exits for the same entry point if you intend the map to be used on multiplayer. Nothing is worse than dieing right after you go through a teleporter.
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 08, 2011, 05:20:45 PM
ok i havent created any maps that i want to use in multiplayer. but also im not exactly sure how to create a session or whatever with a map ive created.
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 10, 2011, 01:33:35 PM
simple question- make your server(this requires you to know how to make a working server) and type in the cheat "open mapname"
if you saved your map as DM_MyFunThingie.ctm you type "open DM_MyFunThingie" but with no ""
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 10, 2011, 05:49:28 PM
by making a working server do you mean just going into the create a session or whatever its called and do it that way? cause if so ive done that before and done the open dm_map but i didnt know that it showed up on the server list once i went into my created map(hope that makes since O.o)
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 11, 2011, 11:48:07 AM
thats not a mapping q its a server q it has nothing to do with the map(it won't work even if u use regular maps)
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 12, 2011, 01:07:32 PM
oh ok i get it. so no i dont know how to make a server. even though ive been playing the game for like 2 years i dont know a lot of things  :o
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 13, 2011, 05:19:52 AM
lol me 2 i think u need to rent one (its like $2 a player slot an hour)
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 13, 2011, 06:54:03 PM
oh you gotta pay that sucks
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 14, 2011, 05:51:34 AM
ja... i think at least for the rented servers(they will stay up after u quit game like Sgt Rock's server) im not sure if the servers ou make yourself will work on internet
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 15, 2011, 01:15:00 PM
ok so how do you rent one
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Sandcrawler on February 15, 2011, 06:41:23 PM
http://main.jestservers.com/

More than likely you'll need to email him about a Republic Commando server, but I know he'll host one. Tell him I sent you as well :p
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 16, 2011, 01:51:43 PM
do i ask him about buying a server or just him hosting or whatever o.o
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Sandcrawler on February 16, 2011, 02:16:32 PM

Renting a game server
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 16, 2011, 06:30:10 PM
ok
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 17, 2011, 01:13:46 PM
putting that aside for now, how do make animations in unreal
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 18, 2011, 01:22:09 PM
theres two answers
1. you can reskin and add meshes to bones in anims that already exist(see my thread Lightsaber in the Animations/machinima forum)
2. there is no tool to make custom anims(like for a whole new character). if you cant morph previous anims into what you want, you need another program like Wings3D and import anims from there.
i dont really know much about anims (im pretty nooby there :P)
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 18, 2011, 02:43:35 PM
yeah so am i :| but with the animations already in unreal how do you like connect them to a pawn and then trigger it?I it probably has something to do with an aiscript and i dont know much about that either.

also, in the actual maps that you play in rc they have like boxes that dont have any textures they're just wire frames, they arent blocking volumes they're just subtracted boxes with no texture not even the checker thing. idk how to do that
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 19, 2011, 09:03:40 AM
umm i think those are skyboxes? (see the tut on skyboxes and you should understand)
as for making pawns do anims add pawn of your choice. go to actor classes>aiscript>scriptedsequence and add one. it will look like a gray square with the words A.I. Script. open up the actor props of the script. goto Events>Tag and make it SlaverAI(or whatever your pawn is. Again, the exact wording doesn't matter, you could make it "ilikecheese" if u wanted. it helps to give it a name that makes sense. it also helps if your tag has capital letters) goto AI>Actions>Add. use the pulldown menu and select WaitForEvent. hit New. set event tag to CueSlaverAnim. select Actions again and hit Add. this time choose PlayAnim and hit New. now open the Anim browser. get to the one you want. its name would be something like SlaverLookLeft(760). in the PlayAnim you made, type in slaverlookleft(no caps, no number) hit Enter. if you typed it right, it will be autocapped. open your pawns props. AI>AIScriptTag and make it slaverai (or whatever just make it no caps bcuz if u do it right, it will be autocapped) finally, set up a trigger to do CueSlaverAnim.

This is a lot like the voice/sound thing
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 19, 2011, 01:04:18 PM
ok i thought it was probably basically like that but im a noob with that sort of stuff
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 20, 2011, 05:41:04 AM
lol try just looking through the stuff you can do with the script. its pretty easy once you get the concept of tags and events down
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 21, 2011, 07:49:22 AM
ok so i looked that that tutorial before and thought it was just him putting a little box above the room and putting the sky textures in there and i was like i don't want that i want a real one like the ones in the game with the separate box.........well now i know xDDD(btw i tried just copying the sky box properties and stuff from the actual game maps but i didn't know about the "fake backdrop" thing you have to check) ANYWAY.....this is just 1 example of my laziness x]
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 21, 2011, 09:42:27 AM
oh another question, how do you edit the existing textures from unreal, cause they're in packages and idk how to open them and get the specific textures. i have GIMP and i know how to use it so the actual editing wont be a problem. i looked everywhere on the forum but i couldnt find anything about this

also i asked this earlier but how do you delete something that has a "null static reference" or whatever cause i have those in some of my maps(cause the way i placed something it didnt work or something) and it doesnt show up in my map but in the game it has either the prop or a white box
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 21, 2011, 11:54:08 AM
ok simple you open the tex browser in unreal select your tex (NO shaders, texpanners etc) go to File>Export. choose a location and a file type (any type will do, i prefer PNG for no particular reason XD) just edit and convert to PCX when u save (only PCX, TGA, and a few others can be imported, and PCX is the only one available in GIMP
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 21, 2011, 12:47:12 PM
ok awesome lol i just added another question to my last post before i saw you answered this one

ok i tried it and it wouldn't save it, like ill name it and save it as a jpg(i also tried png just to see if it worked) but when i look for it, it isn't there
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 22, 2011, 12:05:35 PM
hmm.. ill have to try it myself and see
but for the null static reference just build all a menu should show up with a warining sign about the thing you added. click on the warning in hit the Delete Actor or the Select actor. if you hit select, you get teleported in the 3d view so the object in question os behind you(O.o) then you just delet it there
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 22, 2011, 12:10:38 PM
ah thank you!! i have been trying to figure that out for ages. i've tried clicking on it before but i wasnt clicking on the right place
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 23, 2011, 09:36:25 AM
atip in that regard: before you add an actor you're not sure about, double clickon it in the browser. the defaul props for that actor will show up. look in Display and DisplayAdvanced and look if it has a Mesh, SkeletalMesh, or Static mesh. if it has at least one of these, it will show up in unreal
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 23, 2011, 05:23:09 PM
ok awesome thanks :D
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 25, 2011, 05:56:13 PM
ok this isnt a question about unreal exactly but anyway, in the voice paks for the kashyyk level obliterate the outpost theres sound clips that arent in the game and if you listen to them it seems that they're gunship crashes and 42(the pilot) dies and the gunship gets stuck in a tree. then the commandos go on and thats where the level starts. i  looked in the level itself and theres no gunship or anything about the crash except this: http://oi53.tinypic.com/ip6phh.jpg
its not that clear but theres a branch up high above where you spawn(its kinda hard to find) thats on fire. so i was thinking
maybe the game creators put that in and that it was part of the crash and then they forgot to take it out when they didnt
have that part of the level. does anybody know anything else about this?
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 26, 2011, 06:43:42 AM
i agree with ur theory. the poeple who made the game left a mess behind. theres a voicepak for a JuJu bird that never shows up. in the geo breifing there were plans to pu 3 troopers in the gunship wit u name Sev, Fixer, and Sorch. the one you see is named Fixer. the other 2 are invisible O.o but yeah not sure if its easter eggs or they forgot to clean up after themselvs
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 26, 2011, 06:44:35 AM
oh and please tell me which level it is? i want to see. plz tel me the map name like YYY_04a
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 26, 2011, 10:04:35 AM
its yyy_35a and the fire is up in the trees somewhere above where you spawn. as i said its a little hard to find
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on February 26, 2011, 10:15:38 AM
another thing is i was just looking at the dropship for geo_01briefing and it looks like they just dropped a bunch of stuff in there and didn't bother putting it in right. for example http://oi56.tinypic.com/2jcx0n8.jpg
i mean seriously it looks like they just dropped that stuff ijn there and didnt do anything with out they just left it all over the place
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on February 26, 2011, 12:44:36 PM
that guy you see before the doors close and the gunship launches

EDIT: sorry i didnt look closly at the image. the only thing i can think of is that their position looks better from your vantage point in the gunship
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on March 14, 2011, 04:55:17 PM
sorry i hadnt seen your edit. yeah thats my only guess but still idk why they did it.

also a question about in game in multiplayer: i was playing the TAG clans modded server and it was on lockdown and somehow someone locked the shields for the bases so that you couldn't open them. anybody know what they did
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on March 22, 2011, 03:27:53 PM
Shields? o0 dunno...
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on March 28, 2011, 05:21:32 PM
the shield things that you can raise and lower
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Sandcrawler on March 28, 2011, 05:58:58 PM
They went to the control panel and pushed E I believe there is a message for it, when you are close...
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on March 28, 2011, 06:30:51 PM
............
its F actually and i know you can open and close it ive been playing for like 2 years.......... :o but they some how locked it so you couldnt open it even if you press f
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Sandcrawler on March 28, 2011, 06:53:33 PM
Was it a custom version of the map? The default map has no lock for the door, so it was most likely a bug.
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on March 28, 2011, 07:45:28 PM
yeah it was the tag clans mod with the CTF2 and the dominator 2.0 and stuff. i dont think it was a bug cause a guy said he locked one and then another guy locked the other
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: frazscotland on March 31, 2011, 07:16:02 PM
The guys from TAG have been making great inroads with script based modding for SWRC. Instagib,King of the hill,Prey etc Phobos has shown me sum cool stuff he knows how to change day maps to night ,rain in map change to geo,wookie etc etc the list goes on !
Theres a couple of script based admin patches u kan dload to try By another great rc modder PFWSKIP
http://motrclan.net/modules.php?name=Downloads&cid=6

http://www.lucasforums.com/showthread.php?t=203330
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Omega 27 Elite on March 31, 2011, 08:40:11 PM
cool thanks.
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Sandcrawler on April 02, 2011, 07:47:52 PM
A locked door is just two sets of triggers, one to open and close the door, when enabled, another to close the door and disable the trigger.
Title: Re: Questions about Unreal Editor.....
Post by: Tycon on April 03, 2011, 08:51:33 AM
to completely clear this up, heres my long-awaited(at least by me :P)
Movers Advanced and Events Tutorial
ok so ya got a mover from the basic mover tut. let's say its the elevator that moves back and forth across the ground. double-click on the mover and go to Object>initialstate and change to TriggerToggle. while still in the properties, goto Events>Tag and set to FloorSliderA (to be honest, you can put anything you want. for reasons i'll explain later, it helps to have at least 1 capital letter.) goto ActorClasses>Triggers. when you expand Triggers, you'll see a lot of stuff. ignore that, and just add a plain old Trigger.(Add, dont expand) so you got your trigger. a blue cylinder is around it. you have to be inside that sylinder for the trigger to work. to change the size, goto properties>Collision>CollisionHight and CollisionRadius.(keep in mind a commando is 256 units tall, and 128 units wide) in the trigger properties, go to Events>Event and make it the tag you gave to the mover, just without caps. e.g. floorslidera, then hit enter. the lowercase letters will turn to caps if you typed it right(i use that feature like a spellchecker). finally, properties>trigger>TriggerType. you can set it to TT_Proximity(it goes off when you step in the cylinder) or TT_Use(you need to press 'f' in the cylinder. Build all, save and test.

Feel free to make this an official tut, add pics and stuff