News:

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Making Blocking Properties for Static Meshes help  (Read 1401 times)

{RCU}HM.Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Making Blocking Properties for Static Meshes help
« on: August 07, 2010, 01:01:49 PM »
Does anyone now how to make a box blocking property and make it form onto the static mesh, like the SPHAT on DM anchorhead?
Creator of the RC New Commando Mod

Home Page: http://www.wix.com/1pie347/swrcnewc

Moddb Page (Map Pack) : http://www.moddb.com/mods/rc-new-commando-map-pack

Darktrooper

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 125
  • Karma: +6/-0
    • View Profile
    • Darkstorm Entertainment
Re: Making Blocking Properties for Static Meshes help
« Reply #1 on: August 07, 2010, 03:07:37 PM »
convert the mesh to a brush and then apply blocking volume to brush. I did that with the SPHAT in Anchorhead. Otherwise you'll never get it to fit properly. You may have to replace the model after, I can't remember for sure

{RCU}HM.Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Making Blocking Properties for Static Meshes help
« Reply #2 on: August 07, 2010, 05:00:21 PM »
How do you convert a mesh to a brush?
« Last Edit: August 07, 2010, 05:18:06 PM by {RCU}HM.Will »
Creator of the RC New Commando Mod

Home Page: http://www.wix.com/1pie347/swrcnewc

Moddb Page (Map Pack) : http://www.moddb.com/mods/rc-new-commando-map-pack

Sandcrawler

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 881
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Making Blocking Properties for Static Meshes help
« Reply #3 on: August 07, 2010, 06:07:27 PM »
right click on it.

but there is a better way, look at the tutorial on the website by DooFi.
This is my super cool signature, if you think you can best it then make one and Personal Message it to me. :)

RC-1266

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 282
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Making Blocking Properties for Static Meshes help
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2010, 04:30:25 PM »
Select the Static Mesh, right click on it -> Convert to -> Brush.
Select both the Static Mesh and the Brush, right click -> Save Brush as Collision.
Make sure only to do this with meshes you've created or imported yourself, or save the Static Mesh under another name in one of your custom Mesh folders first.