News:

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Zone Help  (Read 1917 times)

{RCU}HM.Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Zone Help
« on: April 05, 2011, 12:14:31 PM »
Hey

I'm working on a big map called Kamino which will include everthing in Kamino. I am trying to add a portal so I can have the rain visor outside at keep it dry inside. But when I try to add the portal everthing remains one portal.

 Help anyone?
Creator of the RC New Commando Mod

Home Page: http://www.wix.com/1pie347/swrcnewc

Moddb Page (Map Pack) : http://www.moddb.com/mods/rc-new-commando-map-pack

Sandcrawler

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 881
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zone Help
« Reply #1 on: April 05, 2011, 12:43:59 PM »


Check that the sheet intersects the BSP doorway,otherwise it doesn't work.

If it is a SM then you can use a different type of portal.
This is my super cool signature, if you think you can best it then make one and Personal Message it to me. :)

{RCU}HM.Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zone Help
« Reply #2 on: April 06, 2011, 05:07:15 PM »
What do you mean intersect? I placed the portal at the end of the hallway that goes into the open outside area. It worked before but now it's not two different zones anymore.
Creator of the RC New Commando Mod

Home Page: http://www.wix.com/1pie347/swrcnewc

Moddb Page (Map Pack) : http://www.moddb.com/mods/rc-new-commando-map-pack

Sandcrawler

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 881
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zone Help
« Reply #3 on: April 06, 2011, 10:50:49 PM »
Intersect/ touch the doorway area, for it to zone you have to make sure all doorways and sectioned off using the sheet.
This is my super cool signature, if you think you can best it then make one and Personal Message it to me. :)

Tycon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +5/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Zone Help
« Reply #4 on: April 07, 2011, 09:09:06 AM »
are you using the Add Special button?
« Last Edit: April 10, 2011, 10:26:28 AM by Tycon »


I just do this to show off my brother's photoshop skillz :D

{RCU}HM.Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zone Help
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2011, 04:14:00 PM »
yes I am using the special button. sandcrawler, does the sheet need to be the exact height and width of the hallway. Should I try to make more zones because I only am trying to make the inside and outside zones
Creator of the RC New Commando Mod

Home Page: http://www.wix.com/1pie347/swrcnewc

Moddb Page (Map Pack) : http://www.moddb.com/mods/rc-new-commando-map-pack

Tycon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +5/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Zone Help
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2011, 05:56:41 PM »
yes it does need to match the doorway perfectly, otherwise there will be holes where the Zoniness leaks through XD. and i recommend a lot, but ot too many, zones. if you slice it up room by room thats about optimal. Good Luck!
« Last Edit: April 10, 2011, 10:26:43 AM by Tycon »


I just do this to show off my brother's photoshop skillz :D

Sandcrawler

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 881
  • Karma: +16/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zone Help
« Reply #7 on: April 09, 2011, 12:56:27 PM »
What he said, I zone my maps alot.

What zoning them does is tells the GPU (graphics proccessing unit) to not render anything outside of this zone, unless there is a direct line of sight.

So technicaly zoning at the Hallways, is all thats needed. But I usualy zone each room.


Yea the sheet needs to match perfectly.
This is my super cool signature, if you think you can best it then make one and Personal Message it to me. :)

{RCU}HM.Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Zone Help
« Reply #8 on: April 10, 2011, 07:16:32 AM »
it cannot be bigger?
Creator of the RC New Commando Mod

Home Page: http://www.wix.com/1pie347/swrcnewc

Moddb Page (Map Pack) : http://www.moddb.com/mods/rc-new-commando-map-pack

Tycon

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 172
  • Karma: +5/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Zone Help
« Reply #9 on: April 10, 2011, 10:23:33 AM »
It can, but it's much snazzier when it fits just right ;)
« Last Edit: April 10, 2011, 10:26:57 AM by Tycon »


I just do this to show off my brother's photoshop skillz :D