News:

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Why do I die???  (Read 1901 times)

{RCU}HM.Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Why do I die???
« on: June 14, 2011, 11:19:40 AM »
Hey everyone,

I'm trying to make a Briefing scene for my mod but when I start the level up, I die. I copied everything from the Geo briefing and don't know what's wrong. Can anybody help me?

Thanks,

TheCrusher347
Creator of the RC New Commando Mod

Home Page: http://www.wix.com/1pie347/swrcnewc

Moddb Page (Map Pack) : http://www.moddb.com/mods/rc-new-commando-map-pack

{CCP}VI

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 46
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I die???
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2011, 07:28:19 AM »
forgot build all? could also be because of the playerstart. make sure its not in a wall or something like that.
Xfire- viscatus

{RCU}HM.Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I die???
« Reply #2 on: June 16, 2011, 07:30:36 AM »
There are no build all errors and the playerstart is out in the open. What now?
Creator of the RC New Commando Mod

Home Page: http://www.wix.com/1pie347/swrcnewc

Moddb Page (Map Pack) : http://www.moddb.com/mods/rc-new-commando-map-pack

Slaughter

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I die???
« Reply #3 on: June 17, 2011, 03:16:55 PM »
I havnt been modding for months. Reason is, if ya make your level too big. You'll instantly die no matter what you do. Idk y it does that. If its just my computer, Unreal, or the game.. but mybe thats your problem. same thing happend to me after i made dis awesome mod..

Dark Lord

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 240
  • Karma: +3/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I die???
« Reply #4 on: June 17, 2011, 04:29:01 PM »
i make maps bigger than any others that i personally see, so i doubt that is the issue. however, there is a minimum height, and if you place a map too low, it is basically a un-fixable kill zone when you go down there (like my asteroid base where you will die before you hit the ground if you are jumping into the black abyss of the reactor room) this can be fixed by keeping your map around the blue grid.
failing to build all before playing a map can also cause the dying issue

other than that, id check to make sure everything copied over. sometimes copy and pasting from SP to a new map does not go so well and pieces get lost along the way, be sure that you have all brushes where they need to be and your player start is inside one of them
you might want to make sure that there are no triggers/events/ai stuff left over from the SP (ie be sure that the only thing in there is brushes and static mesh)
« Last Edit: June 17, 2011, 04:35:25 PM by Dark Lord »
Ke nu'jurkadir sha Mando'ade

{RCU}HM.Will

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 97
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I die???
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2011, 05:28:37 PM »
I checked my briefing and the Geo briefing and saw that my player start was way below the grid and the one in Geo wasn't. I moved everything up and it worked perfectly. Thanks!!!
Creator of the RC New Commando Mod

Home Page: http://www.wix.com/1pie347/swrcnewc

Moddb Page (Map Pack) : http://www.moddb.com/mods/rc-new-commando-map-pack

Slaughter

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 61
  • Karma: +2/-1
    • View Profile
Re: Why do I die???
« Reply #6 on: June 19, 2011, 08:38:48 AM »
haha wow. we need mor ppl like dark lord to solve problems. cuz dude i never knew it was that ez