News:

Login  |  Register

Author Topic: Test model + animations  (Read 5146 times)

Sh4rpSh00t3r

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 182
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
Test model + animations
« on: February 26, 2008, 01:55:35 PM »
Morph and I have been working on a mod for the MotRHQ map and so i figured i'd share it will you guys the model is a low res version of the 2142 Voss (made by Morph). He is also working on a high res. The animations were made as a test and arms will be included on the final. The animations and such will more than likely replace the blaster and repeater in the MotRHQ mod.

Low Res Model w/o texture:



Animations Test w/o Arms:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zHp9lol0vNE
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Sh4rpSh00t3r »

Genesis

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: February 29, 2008, 07:27:18 PM »
That's amazing man. Has anybody done this before?
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Genesis »

Sh4rpSh00t3r

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 182
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: February 29, 2008, 07:48:30 PM »
modeling yes, but it will be a first for animation importing and if all goes well we will be able to use it, we are also working on a lightsaber, the model is done just need to work on the animations. This may take awhile though since we need to animate all the "bone movements" and animating the arms will be a big deal but Morph says it should be possible and with what he has it can be done.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Sh4rpSh00t3r »

Genesis

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: March 02, 2008, 11:03:31 AM »
ohhh that would be sick if you could use a lightsaber. Now you just have to make some of the pawns jedis. Commandos can't use lightsabers!
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Genesis »

icepwn

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 149
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
    • http://www.freewebs.com/icepwn
(No subject)
« Reply #4 on: March 03, 2008, 05:39:28 AM »
then there will become a new whine exuse "saber noob!" lol ^^
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by icepwn »

RC-1266

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 282
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #5 on: March 03, 2008, 11:13:15 AM »
:shock:  :shock:  :shock:  :shock:  :shock:  :shock:  :shock:  :shock:  :shock:  :shock:
WHOAHOW! that looks damn nice! A+!

by the way, don't make lightsabers. the thing that makes RC so good, is the absence of lightsabers (well you have one in the prosecuter in single player and one in Ghostship, but you know what i mean)
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by RC-1266 »

Genesis

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #6 on: March 03, 2008, 04:04:59 PM »
Or make a mode with lightsabers, or lightsabers only. Then it wouldn't be noob. And it would still be RC.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Genesis »

Sh4rpSh00t3r

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 182
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #7 on: March 03, 2008, 07:38:50 PM »
well if we do make a lightsaber it will be easy to make a slash for the left mouse button and stab for the melee, though we may try to find a way to make the nade button throw the saber, like in the Jedi Knight series.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Sh4rpSh00t3r »

Genesis

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 27
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #8 on: March 05, 2008, 01:31:27 PM »
I hope this doesn't crash and burn like all these other big projects that we've tried to do in this community  :x
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Genesis »

Sh4rpSh00t3r

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 182
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #9 on: March 05, 2008, 02:05:40 PM »
in theory it will work though, you see, other projects such as coop was not intended for the game, but, if we replace animations to other guns it would be like replacing skins and such, it should work fine. The only problem would be if we had a high poly mesh, this could have the potential of crashing a server and that is why we chose to test it with a low res model.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Sh4rpSh00t3r »

JanDeis

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 127
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #10 on: March 07, 2008, 11:34:57 PM »
This is just sick.  I'm downloading this as soon as you can get it imported into RC.  Tell me when you want to test it!  I'm always on playing RC (except right now because I would kick my mom off the internet by playing the game)  Damn wireless piece of shit.

EDIT:  Also, I just thought of something.  I noticed one time browsing the animations for weapon HUD arms, there is a separate animation for each weapon to throw a grenade.  Maybe certain weapons could have a grenade launcher linked to the right-click instead of always the commando (or Trando) throwing it.  But then there would be the problem of creating the grenade on the right of the screen instead of the left.  Also, the speed that you throw the 'nade and the force would have to be altered...

EDIT2:  What program(s) are you using to do this?  The only reason I haven't tried any of this yet is because I don't have the programs I think I need.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by JanDeis »

Sh4rpSh00t3r

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 182
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #11 on: March 08, 2008, 08:59:00 AM »
We are using a program called Maya for both our models and animations.
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Sh4rpSh00t3r »

morpheus

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #12 on: March 09, 2008, 03:48:41 PM »
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by morpheus »

Sh4rpSh00t3r

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 182
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #13 on: March 09, 2008, 04:25:18 PM »
its already in my first post nub...  :P
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by Sh4rpSh00t3r »

morpheus

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
    • View Profile
(No subject)
« Reply #14 on: March 09, 2008, 04:31:47 PM »
Oh, I'm so very sorry. I must have overlooked the link. Please forgive me my cheekiness, it won't happen again, I promise. I would very much appreciate it if you could highlight such important links next time so I shall not be lead into temptation to bring shame on myself, please. That would be utterly kindhearted of you. Thank you so much in advance.

Yours embarrassedly, morpheus :oops:
« Last Edit: December 31, 1969, 05:00:00 PM by morpheus »